253 including 5 women candidates file nominations in Nagaland
 Source : NewsBharati  Date : 08-Feb-2018

Kohima, Feb 8: A total of 253 candidates filed nomination papers for the 13th Nagaland Assembly Elections on Wednesday, the last day, said State Chief Electoral Officer Abhijit Sinha, IAS.

According to a report in Nagaland Post, the last day of filing of nomination papers witnessed the highest number of nominations. Highest 48 candidates filed their papers in Mokokchung district for 10 Assembly seats.

For the 2018 assembly elections, there will be five women candidates who filed their nomination papers. The National People’s Party (NPP) a first timer in Nagaland has nominated two women candidates- Wedie-u Kronu (3 Dimapur-III) and Dr. K. Mangyangpula (Noksen).

Three others are from NDPP, BJP and Independent- Awan Konyak (NDPP/ Aboi), Rakhila (BJP/Tuensang Sadar-II) and Rekha Rose (Ind/ Chizami). Parties, excluding stand-bys, who filed nomination were- NPF (59 candidates), NDPP (40), NPP (27), BJP (20), INC (20), JD-U (15), LJP (2), NCP (6), AAP (3) and Independent (17).

Siblings in fray: The 2018 February election will also witness brothers from three families and three districts contesting the elections.

Rios: Former chief minister Neiphiu Rio (11-Northern Angami-II) and his younger brother Zhaleo Rio (Ghaspani-II) had been members of the 12th NLA (Neiphiu later resigned after winning the lone Lok Sabha seat in 2014). Both Rio brothers will be contesting on NDPP tickets.

Rangkaus: Peren district will witness the Rangkau brothers contesting the February 27 elections. While Nagaland chief minister, Taditui Rangkau Zeliang (Peren) will seek re-election, his brother N.R. Zeliang (Tening) will be contesting his first election. Both are contesting on NPF tickets.

Jamirs: Mokokchung district will also be witnessing two brothers contesting the elections but with separate parties. While retired chief secretary, Alemtemshi Jamir will be contesting from Mongoya and Angetyongpang constituencies as an NDPP candidate, his younger brother and retired director Rural Development department, Metsubo Jamir will be entering the fray for the first time from Mokokchung town as an NPP candidate.

It may be recalled that Governor of Odisha Dr. S.C. Jamir and his younger brother and current DAN minister S.I. Jamir were the first siblings in Nagaland to contest elections the same year and become members of the house.