Battleground gears up for Uttar Pradesh and Bihar; BJP will win both the by-polls says CM Yogi
 Source : NewsBharati  Date : 11-Mar-2018

Lucknow, March 11: Voting has begun for bypolls to three Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh and Bihar. The polling, which began at 7 AM, will conclude at 5 PM.

The two Lok Sabha seats in UP are Gorakhpur and Phulpur, while one seat is Bihar is Araria. While 22 candidates including those from BJP, SP and Congress are in the fray for Phulpur in Allahabad district, 10 candidates are contesting from Gorakhpur.

The Araria seat fell vacant after the death of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) MP Mohammad Taslimuddin. Jehanabad seat also fell vacant following the death of RJD MLA Mundrika Singh Yadav.


Bypolls in Gorakhpur was necessitated following the resignation of UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, while Phulpur seats was vacated by Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Maurya.

Besides Araria Lok Sabha seat, bypolls are also being held today for two assembly constituencies - Jehanabad and Bhabhua in Bihar. EVMs with VVPATs are being used at all polling booths.