Biplab Deb sworn in as first BJP Chief Minister of Tripura
 Source : NewsBharati  Date : 09-Mar-2018

Agartala, March 9: Biplab Kumar Deb has become the first BJP Chief Minister in Tripura after taking oath in a ceremony in Agartala in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Meanwhile, Jishnu Dev Burman has taken oath as the Deputy Chief Minister.

The BJP and the IPFT swept to power in the state, winning 43 seats in the 60-member assembly. BJP bagged 35 seats and the IPFT eight. 

Elections were held for 59 seats of the 60-member assembly on February 18. Polling was countermanded in one seat due to death of a CPI(M) candidate.

Besides, Jishnu Debbarma will also take charge as the Deputy chief minister of the state. He is yet to be elected as an MLA as polling in his Charilam (Scheduled Tribe) constituency was postponed due to the death of the CPI(M) candidate.

BJP president Amit Shah and three chief ministers of BJP-ruled states in the northeastern region would be present at the swearing-in ceremony, state BJP spokesperson Mrinal Kanti Deb had said.

Deb, a long-time RSS volunteer, has been largely credited for the BJP’s turnaround in the state.

BjP ally IPFT president NC Debbarma said the party would get two berths in the new cabinet which was decided at a meeting with BJP leader and the North-East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) chairman Himanta Biswa Sarma.