Karnataka Assembly Elections: BJP rolls out first list of 72 candidates
Source :NewsBharati   Date :09-Apr-2018

Bengaluru, April 9: While battleground for Bhartiya Janata Party is all set up now in Karnataka ahead of Assembly Elections; on Sunday the party released its first list of 72 candidates to contest in the 12 May Karnataka Assembly elections for the 224 seats across the southern state. 

"The central election committee of the party has decided the first 72 names for the ensuing Karnataka Legislative Assembly elections," said the BJP in a statement released by its state unit.


The committee met under the party's President Amit Shah and among its members, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Rajnath Singh and External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj attended the meeting at the party's head office in New Delhi.

The names were announced by senior party leader and Union Minister J P Nadda following the BJP'S Central Election Committee meeting at party headquarters in New Delhi late evening.

Prominent nominees are the party's Chief Ministerial face BS Yeddyurappa from Shikaripura, KS Eshwarappa from Shivamogga, Jagadish Shettar from Hubli-Dharwad Central, Basavaraj Bommai from Shiggaon, CM Udasi from Hangal, KV Hegde from Sirsi and B. Sriramulu from Molakalmuru (reserved).

Of the 224 assembly segments across the state, 173 are general, 36 reserved for the Scheduled Castes (SCs) and 15 for the Scheduled Tribes (STs).

While the tug of war is set between BJP and Congress, BJP Chief Amit Shah have expressed the confidence of winning the Assembly Elections 2018.