Race begins for Karnataka Elections 2018: 10.45% voter turnout recorded
Source :NewsBharati   Date :12-May-2018

Bengaluru, May 12: People of Karnataka press the button as the race begins for fiery elections 2019. Voter turnout across Karnataka stood at 10.45% today morning till 9.30 am. While voting for the Karnataka Assembly election began at 7 am. Voter turnout in Belgaum stood at 11%, in Bijapur stood at 10%, in Bagalkot stood at 11%. Polling is taking place for 222 seats of the total 224 constituencies. Over 2600 candidates are in the fray with main contest expected to be between BJP, Congress and JD(S). 

Despite on his Nepal tour, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, early morning, urged people of Karnataka to cast their vote responsibly. He said “urging my sisters and brothers of Karnataka to vote in large numbers today. I would particularly like to call upon young voters to vote and enrich this festival of democracy with their participation.”

BJP Ace Amit Shah also took to Twitter, saying “voting is the voice of the people living in a democracy. Please don't forget to vote for a Nava Karnataka. By voting for a deserving candidate, ensure that you fulfill your responsibility to bring a just government to power. Please vote today without fail.”

JD(S) supremo HD Deve Gowda cast his vote at polling booth number 24 in Holenarasipura town in Hassan district. "We expect a possibility of forming the government, we have done well." Also, BJP's Chief Ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa casted his vote early in the Shikaripura constituency.

Massive numbers of forces have been deployed across to ensure smooth functioning of elections.

Battleground has all set for three giants- Bhartiya Janata Party, Indian National Congress and Janata Dal (Secular).

The EC has set up 600 all-women run polling booths to push voter percentage among women; five such booths will be present in urban areas while one will be in rural areas. Twenty eight special polling booths bearing an ethnic look have also been set up in the state to encourage primitive and nomadic tribes to vote.