Temperature of Karnataka’s fiery election amplifies: Records 56% voter turnout
Source :NewsBharati   Date :12-May-2018

Bengaluru, May 12: Karnataka’s fiery elections have recorded around 56% of voter turnout till 3.00 p.m. While voting for the Karnataka Assembly election began today at 7 am. Highest voter turnout was recorded in Dakshina Kannada and Udupi districts which stood at 31% while Bengaluru urban recorded the lowest at 17%. 

People of Karnataka willingly participated in Karnataka Assembly Elections. Polling is taking place for 222 seats of the total 224 constituencies. Over 2600 candidates are in the fray with main contest expected to be between BJP, Congress and JD(S). Battleground has all set for three giants- Bhartiya Janata Party, Indian National Congress and Janata Dal (Secular). Massive numbers of forces have been deployed across to ensure smooth functioning of elections.

Former Foreign Minister and BJP leader SM Krishna cast his vote in a polling booth in Bengaluru.

Despite on his Nepal tour, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, early morning, had urged people of Karnataka to cast their vote responsibly. He said “urging my sisters and brothers of Karnataka to vote in large numbers today. I would particularly like to call upon young voters to vote and enrich this festival of democracy with their participation.”

BJP Ace Amit Shah also took to Twitter, saying “voting is the voice of the people living in a democracy. Please don't forget to vote for a Nava Karnataka. By voting for a deserving candidate, ensure that you fulfill your responsibility to bring a just government to power. Please vote today without fail.”

JD(S) supremo HD Deve Gowda cast his vote at polling booth number 24 in Holenarasipura town in Hassan district. "We expect a possibility of forming the government, we have done well." Also, BJP's Chief Ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa casted his vote early in the Shikaripura constituency. B S Yeddyurrappa urged people to exercise their democratic right & cast vote as early as possible.