#KarnatakaElectionResults2018 : BJP crosses century mark; Congress leads on 65
Source :NewsBharati   Date :15-May-2018

Bengaluru, May 15: The high voltage of Karnataka Assembly polls is seeing a neck-to-neck fight between Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress while Devegoda led Janata Dal (S) is nowhere in the contest. Notably, counting of votes for the Karnataka assembly elections is underway at 283 centres across the state.


UPDATE on Karnataka polls as on 9.30 A.M

As of now trends from 213 constituencies indicates that BJP has taken a lead on 102 seats while Congress is leading on 65 seats. On the other side, JDS being nowhere in the contest is leading on 42 seats and Others or Independent candidates are leading on 2 seats.

Chief Minister and Congress candidate Siddaramaiah is leading in Badami constituency, while he is trailing in Chamundeshwari. However, BJP Chief Ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa is leading in Shikaripura BY 3,420 votes over Congress’ GB Malatesh. JDS Candidates HD Kumaraswamy is leading in Chennapatna and HD Revanna in Holenarasipur.

Meanwhile, Election Commission has made elaborate arrangements to ensure smooth counting of votes. Chief election Commissioner O P Rawat said that over 16 thousand personnel have been deployed at the counting centres.

Polling was held for 222 seats out of total 224 was held on 12th of this month. The election in Jayanagar Assembly constituency was countermanded following the death of BJP candidate while in Rajarajeswari Nagar Assembly seat it was deferred on account of electoral malpractices. The fate of over 2,600 candidates is being decided today.