Jair Bolsonaro rise to power as Brazil’s new President
Source :NewsBharati   Date :01-Jan-2019

Sao Paulo, Jan 1: Jair Bolsonaro is taking office as Brazil’s President on Tuesday.

The 63-year old former army captain, longtime congressman rose to power on an anti-corruption and pro-gun agenda that has energized Brazilian conservatives and hard-right supporters after four consecutive presidential election wins by the left-leaning Workers’ Party.

Bolsonaro says he will prioritize the fight against crime in a nation that has long led the world in annual homicides. More than 63,000 people were killed last year. Human rights groups fear his defence of police violence could shield officers from investigations of misconduct and lead to more extrajudicial killings.

Seven of Bolsonaro’s 22 Cabinet ministers are former military personnel, more than in any administration during Brazil’s 1964-1985 dictatorship.

Bolsonaro was born in the small town of Glicerio, in the northwest of the state of Sao Paulo.

He is graduated from the Agulhas Negras Military Academy in 1977 and served in the Brazilian Army's field artillery and parachutist groups. He became known to the public in 1986 when he penned an article for Veja magazine criticizing low wages for military officials, after which he was arrested and detained for fifteen days despite receiving letters of support from peers in the army; he was acquitted two years later.

Bolsonaro joined the reserve army in 1988 with the rank of captain and ran for the Rio de Janeiro City Council that year, being elected as a member of the Christian Democratic Party. He was elected in 1990 to the lower chamber of Congress and was subsequently re-elected six times.

On 22 July 2018, Bolsonaro was officially nominated by the Social Liberal Party (PSL) as its presidential candidate for the 2018 election. Bolsonaro was also endorsed by the Brazilian Labour Renewal Party. His coalition name was "Brazil above everything, God above everyone"

He is scheduled to be sworn in as President of the Republic on 1 January 2019, succeeding Michel Temer.