California, Jan 31: Google has proclaimed that consumer version of the service will shut down on April 2, 2019. Tech giant now announced the support pages for Google + revealing the last day when Google+ users can post on the service.
The shutdown decision came after the discovery of a privacy bug which impacted 52.5 million users. Initially, the company decided to stop the service in August 2019 but, due to a higher security threat and decided to terminate it by April 2019.
In the official statement by Google said, “On April 2nd, your Google + account and any Google + pages you created will be shut down and we will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. Photos and videos from Google + in your album archive and your Google+ pages will also be deleted. You can download and save your content. Just make sure to do so before April. Note that photos and videos backed up in Google photos will not be deleted.”
For answering all the queries, the company has also created an FAQ page where it has answered all the important questions. Along with all, the functionality to post a comment using Google+ on blogger and other services will be removed by April 4.
But most important, G Suite customers will be able to access Google + after April well.
The Google + accounts of G Suite users will remain active and the company is also planning to introduce a new design and features for G Suite users in the coming months.