Indian cricketers skipped for ICC's World Cup XI team

Agencies    31-Mar-2015

Sydney, March 31: ICC's World Cup XI team was declared recently which came as a set back for all indian cricket fans as well as the players of national team. None of the Indian players were included in the team by the selectors. 

The team was dominated by runners-up New Zealand rather than champions Australia with Kiwi skipper Brendon McCullum as its captain. 

Apparently Mohammad Shami took 17 wickets in this tournament but couldn't make his place in the team. 

The ICC team features five New Zealanders despite their seven-wicket loss to Australia in the summit clash yesterday.

The team was chosen by a select group of experts who were given the task of picking a balanced side on the basis of performances in the tournament. 

ICC World Cup XI Team:-                                                           
  • New Zealand - Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Martin Guptill, Daniel Vettori 
  • Australians - Glenn Maxwell, Steven Smith and Mitchell Starc 
  • South Africans - AB de Villiers and Morne Morkel 
  • Sri Lanka - Kumar Sangakkara as wicketkeeper-batsman 
  • Zimbabwe - Brendan Taylor

ICC General Manager, Geoff Allardice who chaired the panel, said Indian pacers Umesh Yadav and Mohammad Shami along with off-spinner R Ashwin were in the running.