Abhinav Bindra and P Gopichand join the jury members to select Indian Sports Honours

NewsBharati    05-Feb-2019

February 5: The list of jury members for the second Indian Sports Honours was completed yesterday as India's first and only individual Olympic gold-medallist Abhinav Bindra and national badminton coach Pullela Gopichand are named jury members.


The two have joined former Indian hockey captain Sardar Singh, tennis veteran Mahesh Bhupathi, legendary athlete PT Usha and former shooter Anjali Bhagwat as a part of the selection panel.

“The award an athlete gets is just not for that individual but it also recognises the team and support staff which is committed for the athlete's success, the award is just not a reflection of an individual's success but it reflects his/her team's efforts too”, said the ace shooter Bindra.

“Appreciation of one’s efforts is an enormous motivation for any sportsman, accolades like this add a tremendous boost of vigour to keep striving for excellence regardless of form and age”, expressed P Gopichand.


The members of jury recently came together in Kolkata to select the winners which were nominated in every category. The nominations were shortlisted by Sports Journalist Federation of India (SJFI) and voted by over 200 journalists to select the final nominees.

Indian Sports Honours are awards, founded in 2017, are given annually by the RP-Sanjiv Goenka Group in association with the Virat Kohli Foundation to outstanding sports personalities from India. The awards are given in 18 categories. The ISH also recognizes the fact that funds and support are critical for achieving excellence in sport. It aims to encourage the forces that will sustain a sporting revolution across the country.

Elaborating on the the jury, Goenka said, “We welcome the Indian sports legends into the jury, and express our heartfelt gratitude for accepting to join the panel in celebrating the legends of Indian sports”.