New squad with new josh! Hockey India announces Indian women’s hockey team for Korea tour 2019

News Bharati    10-May-2019

New Delhi, May 10: For the upcoming Republic of Korea tour, Hockey India comes up with the fresh squad. Hockey India on Friday named the 18-member Indian Women’s Hockey Team for the Republic Of Korea Tour scheduled to begin on 20th May 2019 at the Jinchun National Athletic Center, Jinchun, Korea.

The Indian team will be playing a bilateral series of three Test Matches against the Korean Women’s Hockey team.


Since the start of the year, the Indian team has also toured Spain in January-February 2019 where they played bilateral matches against the host nation and Ireland, which saw them finish with a record of two wins, three draws, and a loss. The team also embarked on their Malaysia Tour in April 2019 which saw them remain unbeaten against the Malaysian Women’s Hockey team as they won four matches and drew one.

Speaking about the importance of the tour ahead of the FIH Women’s Series Finals Hiroshima 2019, Chief Coach Sjoerd Marijne said, “I am happy with the return of experienced players like Rani and Gurjit Kaur in the squad, and pleased that they are fully fit to play these matches. This tour will give us the chance to take a good final step against a strong opponent in our preparation for the FIH Women’s Series Finals Hiroshima 2019. We have identified areas in our game that needed improvement from our past two tours this year, and have worked on them in training, and it is now time to show the improvement in the matches.”

New Indian women’s Hockey squad-


Savita (Vice-Captain)

Rajani Etimarpu


Salima Tete

Sunita Lakra

Deep Grace Ekka

Karishma Yadav

Gurjit Kaur

Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam



Navjot Kaur

Nikki Pradhan

Neha Goyal

Lilima Minz


Rani (Captain)

Vandana Katariya



Navneet Kaur