Samajwadi party fields riot Accused Nahid Hasan from Kairana

Samajwadi Party has given ticket to a Muslim riot accused while accusing BJP of spreading hate.

NewsBharati    25-Jan-2022 10:59:57 AM
Total Views |
Lucknow, Jan 25: Samajwadi Party has given a ticket to riot accused Nahid Hasan from Kairana. Nahid Hasan was accused of planning and implementing the infamous exodus of Hindus from Kairana. He is currently serving in Jail.
Nahid Khan
The Samajwadi Party (SP) on Monday released its first list of 159 candidates for the upcoming Assembly election in Uttar Pradesh. Among the key faces named in the list are party president Akhilesh Yadav and jailed party MP Azam Khan.
Yadav, who had earlier said he would have to seek permission of the people of Azampur from where he is a parliamentarian to join the Assembly poll battle, was officially declared the SP’s candidate from Karhal in Mainpuri.
"I am making a formal official announcement now. Our national president Akhilesh Yadav will contest the Karhal assembly constituency in Mainpuri, and he will win with a massive mandate," Ramgopal had said at a press conference.
Meanwhile, Khan, lodged in Sitapur Jail since February 2020, has moved the Supreme Court seeking an interim bail to campaign in the high-stakes assembly election. Khan has been fielded from the home turf of Rampur.
His son, Abdullah Azam Khan, who is out on bail after spending 23 months in jail, is also in fray for the upcoming seven-phase election in the Suar constituency.
The Samajwadi Party had last week said that former Congress leader Imran Masood, who had also joined the SP, extended his support to Saini's candidature amid reports about his resentment over denial of ticket to him.
Shivpal Yadav, who is the uncle of Akhilesh Yadav, has been declared as the party candidate from the family bastion of Jaswantnagar assembly constituency in Etawah district.
Assembly polls in Uttar Pradesh will be held in seven phases between February 10 and March 7 and the results will be announced on March 10. The state has 403 constituencies.
The 403-member UP Assembly will go to the polls between February 10 and march 7, while the counting of votes will be taken up on March 10.
Former state minister Dharam Singh Saini, who crossed over to the SP a few days ago, has been named as the party's nominee from Nakur seat in Saharanpur district.