BJP wins Chandigarh Mayoral election

BJP won Chandigarh mayoral election on Saturday. While AAP won more seats in the Chandigarh municipal election on 24th December.

NewsBharati    08-Jan-2022 13:48:46 PM
Total Views |
Chandigarh, Jan 08: After getting more seats than BJP in Chandigarh mayoral election the AAP has failed to get the Mayor’s post. BJP’s Sarabjit Kaur Dhillon got elected with 14 votes compared to 13 votes for AAP’s Anju Katyal who got 13 votes. While one vote was declared invalid.
Chandigarh Mayor
Bharatiya Janata Party’s Sarabjit Kaur Dhillon was on Saturday elected the new Chandigarh mayor after she defeated Aam Aadmi Party’s Anju Katyal by one vote.
Seven councillors of the Congress and the lone member of the Shiromani Akali Dal in the 35-member House abstained from voting in the Chandigarh municipal corporation (MC) mayoral election.
Sarabjit Kaur got 14 votes, while Katyal got 13 votes and one vote was declared invalid. Both the BJP and the AAP had 14 votes each in the House.
Sarabjit Kaur Dhillon, a councillor from ward number 6 is the wife of Jagtar Singh Dhillon, a former councillor and lives in ManiMajra. She has studied till BA second year. She entered politics after her husband’s ward was reserved for a woman candidate.
In the December 24 election, the AAP bagged 14 seats, BJP 12 seats, Congress eight and the SAD one seat. The number of BJP votes in the House has gone up to 14 as Harpreet Kaur Babla, the wife of former Chandigarh Congress vice-president, Devinder Babla, joined the BJP. Another vote it has is of city MP Kirron Kher.
Soon after the declaration of the result, AAP councillors resorted to sloganeering. The result is disappointing for the AAP, which became the largest party in the House in its maiden election but lost the mayoral polls.
In the last five years, this is the first time when no clear winner could be predicted in the mayoral battle.
In the previous term of the House, the BJP had a majority of 20 of the 26 seats, and even though there were some hiccups in a couple of mayoral elections, the results were always a foregone conclusion.