As expected! Congress, 18 other Opposition parties to boycott new Parliament building inauguration; Know which are these political parties-

NewsBharati    24-May-2023 11:57:13 AM
Total Views |
New Delhi, May 24: As expected, Congress and 18 other opposition parties have decided to boycott the new Parliament building inauguration. All these Opposition parties on Wednesday issued a joint statement to boycott the inauguration to be held on May 28.
Congress, 18 other Opposition parties to boycott new Parliament building inauguration
The joint statement of the opposition parties said: "Undemocratic acts are not new to the Prime Minister, who has relentlessly hollowed out the Parliament. Opposition Members of Parliament have been disqualified, suspended and muted when they raised the issues of the people of India."
The statement further said MPs from the Treasury benches have disrupted Parliament. Many controversial legislations, including the three farm laws, have been passed with almost no debate, and Parliamentary Committees have been practically made defunct. The new Parliament building has been built at great expense during a once-in-a-century pandemic with no consultation with the people of India or MPs, for whom it is apparently being built, the opposition parties said.

Here is the full list-

1. Indian National Congress

2. Trinamool Congress

3. Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam

4. Janata Dal (United)

5. Aam Aadmi Party

6. Nationalist Congress Party

7. Shiv Sena (UBT)

8. Communist Party of India (Marxist)

9. Samajwadi Party

10. Rashtriya Janata Dal

11. Communist Party of India

12. Indian Union Muslim League

13. Jharkhand Mukti Morcha

14. National Conference

15. Kerala Congress (Mani)

16. Revolutionary Socialist Party

17. Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi

18. Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam

19. Rashtriya Lok Dal 
Invitations for the inauguration of the new Parliament building slated on May 28 have been sent to various leaders across the country including the former Speakers and Chairmen of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha respectively, sources said on Tuesday.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla will dedicate to the nation the new Parliament building on May 28. Invitations have been sent in both physical and digital forms to the MPs of both Houses. President Droupadi Murmu and Vice President Jagdeep Dhankhar are likely to release congratulatory messages on the occasion of the inauguration of the new Parliament building on May 28.
The present building of the Parliament was completed in 1927, and is now going to be almost 100 years old. The lack of space was being experienced in this building as per the present requirements. In both Houses, there was also a lack of convenient arrangements for the sitting of the MPs which was affecting the efficiency of the work of the Members.
Considering the above, both the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha passed resolutions urging the government to construct a new building for the Parliament. Consequently, on 10 December 2020, the foundation stone of the new building of Parliament was laid by Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi. The newly constructed Parliament building has been built in record time with quality construction.
Now the newly constructed building of Parliament, which will work to further enrich India's glorious democratic traditions and constitutional values, is also equipped with state-of-the-art facilities which will help the Members to perform their functions in a better way.
The new Parliament building will enable 888 members to sit in the Lok Sabha. In the present building of the Parliament, there is a provision for the sitting of 543 Members in the Lok Sabha and 250 in the Rajya Sabha. Keeping in view the future requirements, arrangements have been made for a meeting of 888 members in the Lok Sabha and 384 members in the Rajya Sabha in the newly constructed building of the Parliament. The joint session of both Houses will be held in the Lok Sabha Chamber.