#Bemisaal14Saal : CM Raman Singh completes 14-yrs rule in Chhattisgarh; know the journey of ‘Unmatched Leader’
Source :NewsBharati   Date :07-Dec-2017

Raipur, December 7: Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh today has completed an uninterrupted 14-year rule in the state. The chief minister gave credit for every success, achieved by his government, to the 'hard working' people of the state.


Raman Singh had assumed the CMO on December 7, 2003, after getting the mandate in the first Chhattisgarh assembly election. He was sworn in for his 2nd term on December 12, 2008, and was re-elected as the Chief Minister for his 3rd tenure on December 12, 2013. Singh thanked the people of the state on the occasion.


Expressing gratitude towards the people of the state, on the occasion of completion of 14 years of his government, Singh on Wednesday thanked them for their 'affection, cooperation and support.'

The chief minister also hoped that with the continued support of the people of the country, Chhattisgarh would be in the category of the most developed states of the country in the next few years.

By profession Raman Singh is an Ayurvedic doctor from the Government Ayurvedic College at Raipur. He practiced Ayurvedic Medicine in Kawardha after completing the course.

Raman Singh was moved by the principles and ideologies of the Bharatiya Jan Sangh from his student days. During 1976-1977 he became the President of Bharatiya Jan Sangh Yuva Morcha at his native place Khawardha.

In the earlier Atal Bihari Vajpayee government at Centre, he was Union Minister of State for Commerce and Industry from 1999 to 2003 and named as president of BJP in the new state of Chhattisgarh ahead of Assembly polls in 2003. He led the party to victory, defeating then Congress government of Chief Minister Ajit Jogi.

Raman Singh first came to reckoning after being elected as an MLA in the year 1990. He again got reelected in the year 1993. He was then given a Lok Sabha ticket and got elected as an MP in the year 1999 from Rajnandgaon constituency and was immediately drafted in Atal Bihari Vajpayee cabinet and served the cabinet with the post of Union minister of state for commerce and Industry.

He then was named as BJP’s chief ministerial candidate and finally sworn in as the 2nd Chief Minister of Chattisgarh in December 2003. He took the command in his hand and made BJP come in power in the newly formed state. Under his leadership, many reforms were made in the state.

Chattisgarh CM has been credited for managing fiscal policy, reducing corruption, and implementation of various public welfare programs that came into existence during his term as the Chief Minister of Chattisgarh.

Raman Singh, ranked by India Today as the number one Chief Minister of India in 2005. To recognize the role of Chhattisgarh in its efforts on human development, the United Nations has bestowed the state with its highest award.

Pradhan Mantri Gramin Sadak Yojana is implemented in Chhattisgarh for the last three years. Massive investments in roads, electrical infrastructure and water resources are coming up. The Union Ministry for Industries declared Chhattisgarh as the leading state in investments in January 2007.

This was the reason that he is still the CM of the state and serving his 3rd term. The elections are due in few months and he will again be projected as CM candidate by the party for his clean image and reforms that have been made in the state under his leadership.

Political Journey of Raman Singh

In 1983-84 he was the Municipal Councillor of Sheetla ward of Kawardha.

In 1990 he was elected as a Member of Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly.

In 1993 he was re-elected as a Member of Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly.

In 1999 Raman Singh was elected as Member of the 13th Lok Sabha.

From October 1999 to January 2003, he was the Union Minister of State for Commerce and Industry.

In 2004 he was elected as a Member of Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly.

In 2008 he was re-elected a Member of Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly.

On December 7, 2003, Raman Singh took oath as the second Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh.

On December 12, 2008 he again became the Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh.

On 8 December 2013 he was re-elected as the chief minister (CM) of the state.