Take a look at records set by Kohli and Company during his captaincy across all formats
Source :NewsBharati   Date :28-Sep-2017

New Delhi, September 28: Indian cricket team is going through the brightest phase and all credit goes to the players and management. Indian team is in magical form and due to which records are showering in all the formats of cricket especially under Virat Kohli’s captaincy. Importantly, India grabbed the top spot in both ICC ODI and Test rankings for the first time in history.


Let’s have a look at the records set by Kohli and Company during his captaincy:

Firstly, Indian team grabbed the top spot in both ICC ODI and Test rankings for the first time in history.

India won six consecutive ODI series after Virat Kohli took over the captaincy, beginning with a sensational victory over Zimbabwe in 2016 and later followed by New Zealand, England, West Indies and Sri Lanka. Earlier, 6th consecutive series win streak was also achieved by Dhoni and Dravid.

Winning the 3rd ODI against Australia, Virat Kohli equalled the record set by MS Dhoni and Rahul Dravid for most consecutive wins by an Indian captain.

Virat Kohli now has nine consecutive wins, which is also achieved by former skipper MS Dhoni between Nov 2008 to Feb 2009 and by Dravid in 2006.

Virat Kohli became the first captain to lead Indian team to a win over Australia in three consecutive matches of an ODI series.

Virat Kohli has the winning percentage among all the other Indian captains who led a national side for 60 matches or more. Kohli has captained 72 matches and won 52 of them, a winning percentage of 72.22.

India has won 19 of the 29 Tests, 30 of the 38 ODIs and 3 of the 5 T20Is under Virat Kohli’s captaincy.

From the time he took over as the Test captain, Kohli hasn't lost a single Test match series.

Indian team has won eight consecutive test series under the captaincy of Virat Kohli. India defeated Sri Lanka for two times i.e in 2015 and 2017 than, South Africa, West Indies, New Zealand, England, Bangladesh, Australia. However, only Australia and England have more consecutive Test series wins, 9.

Virat Kohli holds the record for most double centuries by an Indian captain which is four. While his first double ton as captain came against West Indies in 2016, the latest came against Bangladesh in 2017.

Virat Kohli is also the fastest to reach 10 Test centuries as India's captain. Kohli did this in 44 innings, overtaking Sunil Gavaskar who did it in 52 innings.