#KarnatakaElections2018 : Yeddyurappa says verdict for BJP; Siddaramaiah defeat shows anger of people towards the Congress
Source :NewsBharati   Date :15-May-2018

Bengaluru, May 15: In Karnataka polls, Congress has been flatly rejected by the people of Karnataka who have voted for change. This was said by Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Chief Ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa on Tuesday amidst counting of votes for the Assembly polls of Karnataka.


While briefing media in Bengaluru, BS Yeddyurappa said, “This is a verdict for BJP and people have completely rejected the Congress.” “The fact that Siddaramaiah himself has been voted out in his own constituency shows the anger of people towards the Congress and I thank our tireless karyakartas,” he added.

Taking a dig at the Congress party’s offer to support JD(S), BS Yeddyurappa said, “Congress is flatly rejected by people of Karnataka who have voted for change and Congress is trying to subvert the mandate through dubious means.”

Thanking to the state, BS Yeddyurappa said, “People of Karnataka have clearly voted for change and they have responded to the clarion call of PM Modi.” Talking upon the current political scenario the BJP’s CM candidate said, “I will consult with central leaders on the next course of action.”

Lauding the efforts of BJP chief, BS Yeddyurappa said, “Amit Shah's organizational expertise has led us to becoming the single largest party. I thank people for this positive mandate for the BJP.”

According to the available data from Election Commission, BJP has emerged as a single largest party as it is leading with 107 seats. On the other side, Congress is leading 73 seats while JD(S) is leading on 40 seats. However, Congress in a bid to enter in power from backdoor has asked JDS to form the government with its support.

Importantly, the counting of votes for the Karnataka assembly elections is underway at 283 centres across the state. The result on 212 seats of 224 Karnataka Assembly constituencies been declared so far and according to which, BJP has won 102 seats while Congress bagged 72 seats and JDS has won 37 seats.