Beating CSK, Mumbai Indians becomes 1st team to win 100 IPL matches

NewsBharati    04-Apr-2019

Mumbai, April 4: Mumbai Indians beat Chennai Super Kings by 37 runs in Mumbai on Wednesday night. Chasing a target of 171, Chennai were bundled out for 133 for 8 in the stipulated 20 overs at the Wankhede Stadium. Earlier, invited to bat, Mumbai scored 170 for five.


Jason Behrendorff starred on debut while Hardik Pandya shone with bat and ball as Mumbai Indians became the first team in IPL history to win 100 matches. MI snapped Chennai Super Kings' winning streak this season with an emphatic 37-run win at the Wankhede Stadium on Wednesday.

Behrendorff removed Ambati Rayudu and Suresh Raina to rock CSK early in their chase of 171 while Lasith Malinga dismissed Shane Watson. Kedar Jadhav and MS Dhoni added 54 runs for the fourth wicket but the asking rate kept climbing steadily - it was going to be a massive ask against the likes of Lasith Malinga and Jasprit Bumrah towards the end of the innings.

Hardik Pandya had bowled brilliantly in his first spell, giving away only 6 runs off 2 overs. He struck with the first ball of his new spell to remove MS Dhoni and only a special effort from Kedar Jadhav, Dwayne Bravo and Ravindra Jadeja could have taken CSK from from 87 for 4 in 14.1 overs.

Delhi Capitals will face Sun Risers Hyderabad at the Feroz Shah Kotla ground in Delhi 8 PM on Thursday.