Rajnath Singh launches Web Portal to issue NOC for Power Projects

NewsBharati    30-Jun-2020
Total Views |
New Delhi, June 30: To ensure ease of business and transparency in issuing No Objection Certificate (NOC), Defence Minister Rajnath Singh launched a new web portal for issuing of NOC to entities that are undertaking power projects and activities related to research, survey, exploration, exploitation (RSEE) in the Indian Territorial Waters (TW) and Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ).
raj_1  H x W: 0
"The online system will facilitate the applicants in submitting their proposals online for seeking MoD Security Clearance for undertaking Power Projects/RSEE activities. It will also establish an effective, speedy and transparent mechanism to process these proposals," the statement read. Earlier, the Ministry has earlier launched a similar portal for grant of NOC for aerial survey.
The Minister along with Minister of State for Defence Shripad Naik launched the web portal in the presence of Army Chief General M M Naravane, Navy Chief Admiral Karambir Singh, and Air Chief Marshal R K S Bhadauria.
The Ministry developed the portal with the assistance of National e-Governance Division (NeGD), Bhaskaracharya Institute for Space Applications and Geo-informatics (BISAG) and National Informatics Centre (NIC). The address for the new online portal is https://ncog.gov.in/modnoc/home.html.
According to rules of the United Nations, all areas extending up to 12 nautical miles from a country's coastline are its TW whereas all areas extending up to 200 nautical miles from a country's coastline are its EEZ.
The Ministry of Defence (MoD) accords security clearances to various private sector companies, public sector entities and government organisations for power, wind or solar projects in areas nearby defence installations and also RSEE activities in the Indian TW and EEZ. The applications are received through different Ministries like Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE), Ministry of Power, Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas, Ministry of Shipping, Director General of Hydrocarbons, etc.