"Boycott is unfair, govt made it and hence has right to unveil it": Mayawati on new Parliament inauguration

NewsBharati    25-May-2023 16:44:42 PM
Total Views |
New Delhi, May 25: With Opposition parties going against the inauguration of the new Parliament building by PM Narendra Modi, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo Mayawati has called the boycott of the event unfair and said that the Central government has the right to unveil it as it has built it.
Mayawati New Parliament Building
"Whether it was the Congress party’s government at the Centre or now the BJP’s, the BSP has always supported them on issues related to the country and public interest, rising above party politics. Viewing the inauguration of the new Parliament building in the same context, the party welcomes it," Mayawati wrote on Twitter.
Further, she added, "Boycott is unfair for not inaugurating the new Parliament by President Draupadi Murmu. The government has made it, so it has the right to inaugurate it. It is also unfair to link this with tribal women’s respect. He should have thought of this while fielding a candidate against him instead of electing him unopposed."
However, she informed that she won’t be able to attend the event owing to prior engagements. "I have received the invitation for the programme dedicated to the country, meaning the inauguration ceremony of the new Parliament House, for which I am thankful and extend my best wishes. But due to my pre-scheduled engagements regarding the continuous review meetings of the party, I will not be able to attend the function," Mayawati stated.
Mayawati’s statements come after the row over the inauguration had snowballed on Wednesday, with 19 Opposition parties issuing a joint statement condemning the event. "Prime Minister Modi’s decision to inaugurate the new Parliament building by himself, completely sidelining President Murmu, is not only a grave insult but a direct assault on our democracy which demands a commensurate response," the signatories — including the Congress, AAP, DMK, and TMC — had stated.
AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi had separately announced that his party’s MPs, too, would not attend the inauguration.